Skip to main content

FAA and EASA part 145



Eco Fly works together with well reputed FAA and EASA Part 145 maintenance companies and targets to obtain its own FAA and EASA Part 145 maintenance organization approval during 2022.

Introduction – What is Part 145?

Part 145 is the approval by the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) which lets organizations approve authorized individuals to certify aircraft maintenance tasks and checks within the scope of the approval granted to the organization.

Who is responsible for FAA and EASA part 145 Regulations

The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) and the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) are responsible directly for the Acceptable Means of Compliance (AMC) and Guidance Material (GM).

Regulatory Levels

  • Implementing Rules IR – Highest Level – Mandatory
  • Acceptable Means of Compliance (AMC) – May be varied with the approval of the Regulatory Authority – using Alternate Means of Compliance (AMOC)
  • Guidance Material – Not mandatory however expected as Best Practice to comply

FAA/EASA part 145 Regulatory Issue & Compliance

Regulations are overseen by National Aviation Authorities who provide oversight of the regulations that govern Commercial Air Transport aircraft maintenance throughout the US and the EU.

Part 145 approval is issued within the US and the EU by the Civil Aviation Authority of each member state.

Outside the US and the EU, organizations are able to obtain FAA and EASA Part 145 approval under the direct control and oversight of the FAA or EASA.

The FAA and EASA will nominate a regulatory authority to perform these oversight activities on behalf of the FAA and EASA.

More About FAA/EASA Part 145 Approval – Harmonization

Part 145 is aligned with the official FAA/EASA approval – known as FAR 145 or 14 CFR Part 145 – REPAIR STATIONS Approval in full. (CFR stands for Code of Federal Regulations).

Once issued a Part 145 approval does not expire. Important therefore that it is managed safely and correctly. The Accountable Manager is responsible for its compliance.

How to Certify In Accordance With FAA or EASA Part 145

Organizations require a “Maintenance Organization Approval” (FAA/EASA Part 145) with identified scope for the applicable aircraft, engine, and/or component. This allows the provider to approve its certification staff who are licensed in accordance with another regulation called FAA/EASA Part 66.

Aircraft Maintenance Engineers License Categories

Through FAA/EASA Part 66 engineers have the following specialties to support the FAA/EASA Part 145 Organization:

A – License without type

B1 – Includes (A) covers Airframe/ Engine and Electrical

B2- Covers Avionics and Electrics

B3 – Combination B1 & B2 but only for small aircraft (Below 2000KG “Group ELA2”)

C – Special Approval to Certify Base Maintenance

Eco Fly AG will be a certified FAA and EASA 145 organization that coordinates line and base maintenance services for a wide range of commercial aircraft, including Boeing, Airbus and Embraer airliners.